How to Stop the Tackler –Crossface

I asked my nephew James, the champion wrestler, what his primary defense is against the opponent who shoots. He replied the cross face, which he demonstrates here.

We square off and I (on the right) prepare to go for a double leg tackle.

 

I shoot for the outside of James' lead leg. Note how his arm drops to counter.

James' forearm comes up across my face.

James sprawls, throwing his legs back and placing his weight on me (by lowering his hips). It's hard for me to counter, even if I drive or get both arms on one leg, because he is twisting my head in the other direction.

This video shows the basics of the crossface and sprawl.

Remember, in Bruce Lee’s fighting stance, he kept his lead right arm low, with the elbow resting on his hip. Could this be useful against the shooting opponent?

In this video (at the very end of the clip) a wrestler uses a crossface like the aikido entering throw irimi nage, at least as practiced by Steven Seagal, who uses it to great effect.

Steven Seagal Performs Irimi Nage

 

2 Responses to “How to Stop the Tackler –Crossface”

  1. […] I’ve noticed on the Big Stick Combat Blog that Darren Cook has been exploring some practical grappling moves that he’d picked up from his nephew. I took a look, and they are very valid, sound […]

  2. […] Defense: Front Quarter Nelson My nephew James earlier demonstrated the cross face and sprawl as a defense against a double leg tackle. In that case the opponent moved […]

Leave a Reply

