Poser of the Week

Would people please stop crossing themselves? Would you please not choke up on the stick? Is it too much to ask you to defend your head and throat? Could you not extend your arm as though guarding your thingh?

Now we have “Tae Kwon Do Eskrima.”

Here’s a motto: “Master Joo Bang Rhee –Putting the ‘Tae’ in ‘Tae Kwon Do.”

This guy does eskrima, hapkido, eskrima, tai chi, and shaolin long fist. Do any of these arts go together, or are they just stacked on top of each other like boxes of Amway products in the garage?

2 Responses to “Poser of the Week”

  1. I don’t know anything about Joo Bang Rhee (though the guy in the photo does not look Korean to me), and I have minimal experience in Eskrima so can’t speak to the stick position. But I do think it’s unfair to criticize someone just for having studied multiple arts. And the only one in the list above that’s inconsistent is perhaps Shaolin Long Fist. Hapkido and Tai Chi are both essentially soft styles.

    My core art is Hapkido. I also study Silat, Japanese Jujitsu, and Okinawan Kenpo. Jujitsu and Hapkido are obviously from the same root and many techniques are almost identical. Silat is quite brutal but is still fundamentally a soft style, utilizing soft blocks, blinding techniques, elbows to soft targets, twisting the head, trapping the feet, etc. I’ve found that it complements my Hapkido by offering me many more choices at close range. It also uses many of the same joint locks as Hapkido and Jujitsu but in Silat they are employed as breaks. Kenpo is a little further out there, but Shorin-Ryu is a softer style of Karate and its style of movement and striking is not too different from Hapkido. Mainly I just borrow little things here and there from the Kenpo and incorporate them into my Hapkido. I did Shotokan as a youth, and I’ve left that firmly behind me and no longer practice it, because it’s stylistically very different from my current arts. In fact it’s taken me years to un-learn the power approach of Shotokan.

    Studying multiple arts does not make someone a poser, and arts that may seem radically different to you on the surface may merge well for the practitioner.

  2. Wael77,

    My primary criticism is of the gentleman’s eskrima stance.

    As for multiple styles, I wonder if his styles go together. You mention that shaolin long fist does not seem to mesh with the other arts, and I have to wonder how you merge a hapkido side kick with tai chi.

    You mention that you do multiples styles, and you offer a thoughtful and convincing rationale for the arts that you practice. You were also honest and analytical enough to realize that Shotokan is incompatible with the other arts you study.

    My point is to bring up the subject and get the reader to think, “What is my core art? Is this new style/technique compatible with what I do?”

    Thanks for reading and for posting.

Leave a Reply

