My Weapon of Choice

Any weapon is a trade off in qualities.

While the 28 inch short stick (and the very short stick, too) used in most Filipino martial arts is useful in close, it lacks stopping power and reach.

The short staff of Tapado has incredible stopping power, but it is cumbersome in close. Both the short stick and the short staff are obviously weapons, and awkward or illegal to carry to a party, on the street, or in a car.

I believe that the long stick is the ideal combination of characteristics. It has greater reach, and as a two-handed weapon, greater stopping power. A walking stick, a cane, and a baseball bat are legal and can be carried inconspicuously.

The real challenge with the long stick is to use it effectively in close, especially because opponents will either attack from close range or try to move in to close range to negate the reach and power advantages of the long stick. I believe that with the right techniques and training, it is possible to overcome the close range Achilles heel of the long stick.

My weapon of choice is a light baseball bat. In a future post I will explain the advantages of the baseball bat as a weapon.

3 Responses to “My Weapon of Choice”

  1. darrin, i enjoy reading your blog!

    there isnt too many blogs that i do read, but yours is one that i check each day.

    mustafa

  2. Maraming salamat po! Or Daghang salamat! Thanks! The feeling is mutual.

    It’s always good to know someone is reading and getting something from it.

  3. “I believe that the long stick is the ideal combination of characteristics. It has greater reach, and as a two-handed weapon, greater stopping power. A walking stick, a cane, and a baseball bat are legal and can be carried inconspicuously.”

    It is interesting to see you deem the cane as a good stopper. Most walking sticks for sale around here seem too weak to me for doing real damage. I have gotten improvised 1″ thick walking sticks and swung them against solid objects for practice. These canes don’t survive the first hit. I am sure a strike with these things would hurt as hell, but I am unsure what the effect on a random enemy would be. I suppose using a 1″ thick cane made of good wood like a bayonet, or using a Fairbairn-like style, would offer some results, but I still wonder how much stopping power do they have.

    Internet is full of videos of LEOs using batons for little effect on criminals. When I see the canes present in the stores of my area, I always remember those videos. What are your thoughts about this?

Leave a Reply

